Webberville Community Schools Board of Education Regular Meeting Minutes December 16, 2024

Call to Order

A regular meeting of the Webberville Board of Education was called to order by President Amy Coe in the Spartan Center Community Room on Monday, December 16, 2024, at 6:00 PM.

Roll Call

Present: Amy Coe, Daneille Rhodes, Heather Musolf, Jennifer Lycos, Linda

Erwin, Sueann Crandall

Absent: Kelly Lott

Administration Present: Andrew Smith

Approval of Agenda

Ms. Lycos moved, Ms. Erwin seconded a motion to approve the agenda of the regular Board of Education meeting being held on today's date, Monday, December 16, 2024, as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Rhodes – Y; Musolf – Y; Lycos - Y; Erwin – Y; Crandall - Y. Motion passed 6-0.

Routine Items - Consent Agenda

Ms. Rhodes moved, Ms. Lycos seconded a motion to approve the consent agenda as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Rhodes – Y; Musolf – Y; Lycos - Y; Erwin – Y; Crandall - Y. Motion passed 6-0.

Communications and Petitions

None

Board Vacancy Application Review

Ms. Rhodes shared that five individuals have filed interest for the two board seats. The board discussed the options and potential process to select the candidates. It was agreed to use a ranking system to determine the best candidates to present for action at the board meeting in January.

Action Items

Ms. Rhodes moved, Ms. Erwin seconded a motion to approve the hiring of Vanessa Holden as a front office manager, as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Rhodes – Y; Musolf – Y; Lycos - Y; Erwin – Y; Crandall - Y. Motion passed 6-0.

Ms. Rhodes moved, Ms. Lycos seconded a motion to approve the hiring of Maria Miklojcik as a front office manager, as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Rhodes – Y; Musolf – Y; Lycos - Y; Erwin – Y; Crandall - Y. Motion passed 6-0.

Ms. Rhodes moved, Ms. Lycos seconded a motion to approve the extension of employment contracts for one additional year beyond current contract for the following employees: Tanja Scifers, Dawn Preadmore, Joshua DePue, Tracy Bucchanon, Christine Bennett, Danielle Williams, Sydney Kavanaugh, Heather Derian, Laura Grant, Andrew Smith, Jeannette Kiernan,

Jason Kubiak. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Rhodes – Y; Musolf – Y; Lycos - Y; Erwin – Y; Crandall - Y. Motion passed 6-0.

Ms. Lycos moved, Ms. Erwin seconded a motion to approve the revised 2024-25 contracts for the following employees: Lindsay Kadletz, Curtis LaFond, Rachael Russell, Ashley Brown. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Rhodes – Y; Musolf – Y; Lycos - Y; Erwin – Y; Crandall - Y. Motion passed 6-0.

Ms. Rhodes moved, Ms. Lycos seconded a motion to approve a salary schedule for July 1 contracts, as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Rhodes – Y; Musolf – Y; Lycos - Y; Erwin – Y; Crandall - Y. Motion passed 6-0.

Ms. Lycos moved, Ms. Erwin seconded a motion to approve overnight travel for Ethan West to participate in Honors Choir, as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Rhodes – Y; Musolf – Y; Lycos - Y; Erwin – Y; Crandall - Y. Motion passed 6-0.

Ms. Lycos moved, Ms. Rhodes seconded a motion to move into closed session for the purpose of discussing student discipline 2023-1. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Rhodes – Y; Musolf – Y; Lycos - Y; Erwin – Y; Crandall - Y. Motion passed 6-0. The board moved into closed session at 6:51 PM.

Ms. Rhodes moved, Ms. Lycos seconded a motion to return to open session. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Rhodes – Y; Musolf – Y; Lycos - Y; Erwin – Y; Crandall - Y. Motion passed 6-0. The board returned to open session at 7:08 PM.

Ms. Erwin moved, Ms. Lycos seconded a motion to approve the recommendation of reinstatement for student 2023-1, as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Rhodes – Y; Musolf – Y; Lycos - Y; Erwin – Y; Crandall - Y. Motion passed 6-0.

Comments from the Audience

None

Comments from the Board

Ms. Musolf inquired if support was needed for anyone involved in the recent car accident.

Adjournment

Ms. Rhodes moved, Ms. Lycos seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Rhodes – Y; Musolf – Y; Lycos - Y; Erwin – Y; Crandall - Y. Motion passed 6-0. The board adjourned the meeting at 7:12 PM.

Respectfully Submitted, Heather Musolf Webberville Board of Education Secretary